HLFX.Ru Forum
профиль •  правила •  регистрация •  календарь •  народ •  FAQ •  поиск •  новое •  сутки •  главная •  выход  
HLFX.Ru Forum HLFX.Ru Forum > Теория и практика > Half-Life SDK > FPS Max question and bugs...
some strange thing around FPS max....
  Предыдущая тема   Следующая тема
Автор
Тема Новая тема    Ответить
Napoleon321
Admiral

Дата регистрации: Jan 2017
Проживает: Sofia
Сообщений: 37
Возраст: 32

Рейтинг



FPS Max question and bugs...

Hello Team of wizards and C++ masters,

I need some advice and help regarding something I recently observed...

With Half-Life (Gold Source) you're allowed to set the max FPS (fps_max) and to actually override it...

The problem is that if you do so... especially if you put it to something more than 120... and I know a lot of players actually use this (or maybe I should say abuse this) a lot of weird shit start to happens...

This is not a big problem for Simgleplayer (maybe it makes the game easier, or harder depending on what end it happens.. for example you being able to reload or fire faster will help you; but the enemy NPC being able to do something faster will actually get a new hard mode for you, especially if you don't have what the enemy has...)

I'll list what I have noticed and I think it should be addressed (if possible):

1. Most of the weapons can fire a lot faster depending on the fps max...
2. Most of the weapon can reload faster
3. Weapons that have ammo that recover over time, actually recover faster
4. Items that recover something, recover faster
5. Health chargers and hev chargers recover your health / armor faster...

On my opinion this is something that should not happens... and should be called cheating... (allowed by the game code for some reason...)

Can anyone help with a way to hard code the fps, and or to actually bypass it, so it's not being used for calculating the speed for reloads, firing, charging etc?

If something like this is already implemented or fixed somewhere (public domain) I would be happy if you point me out to that source.

Thanks in advance.

__________________
FlatLine Arena | Tutorials

If you don't like something, MOD it!

Сообщить модератору | | IP: Записан
Сообщение: 209117

Старое сообщение 11-05-2022 15:12
- За что?
Ku2zoff
Мастер Ёда из Деревни Дуракоф

Дата регистрации: Apr 2007
Проживает: В Деревне дураков
Сообщений: 6488
Возраст: 31

Рейтинг



Napoleon321 well, as I know, the only thing that is fps-dependent, is gpGlobals->frametime. So, all parts of the code, that use gpGlobals->frametime may not function correctly at high fps (>100). It looks strange, that all list items from 1 to 5 is fps-dependent too. Because that items use gpGlobals->time as time marker, and don't use gpGlobals->frametime as multiplier to correct timings at random fps values.

Отредактировано Ku2zoff 11-05-2022 в 15:32

Сообщить модератору | | IP: Записан
Сообщение: 209118

Старое сообщение 11-05-2022 15:31
- За что?
Napoleon321
Admiral

Дата регистрации: Jan 2017
Проживает: Sofia
Сообщений: 37
Возраст: 32

Рейтинг



Well, yeah.. it looked strange for me too... Especially having in mind that I was like... "Oh it's juts a visual" until I tested it with a friend of mine, laptop-next-to-laptop... on the same network and on the same server

__________________
FlatLine Arena | Tutorials

If you don't like something, MOD it!

Отредактировано Napoleon321 11-05-2022 в 15:39

Сообщить модератору | | IP: Записан
Сообщение: 209119

Старое сообщение 11-05-2022 15:37
- За что?
Ku2zoff
Мастер Ёда из Деревни Дуракоф

Дата регистрации: Apr 2007
Проживает: В Деревне дураков
Сообщений: 6488
Возраст: 31

Рейтинг



Are incorrect timings appear on a dedicated server?

Сообщить модератору | | IP: Записан
Сообщение: 209120

Старое сообщение 11-05-2022 15:41
- За что?
Napoleon321
Admiral

Дата регистрации: Jan 2017
Проживает: Sofia
Сообщений: 37
Возраст: 32

Рейтинг



Yes. I observed the same behavior, no matter if on DS or LAN.

During my first test the DS was on a separate machine we were connecting both of us. On the second test the host was me and the other player joined, then we switched the roles, with the same result when using different fps max...

That was the reason I asked how to hard code the value for the fps max server side...

If we can force it for the server to use default (fixed) value for fps max, we don't need to change anything on the code involved for the misbehaving entities... If this is not possible to be enforced server side... obviously the code for the entities needs to be modified if possible...

__________________
FlatLine Arena | Tutorials

If you don't like something, MOD it!

Отредактировано Napoleon321 11-05-2022 в 15:47

Сообщить модератору | | IP: Записан
Сообщение: 209122

Старое сообщение 11-05-2022 15:45
- За что?
Ku2zoff
Мастер Ёда из Деревни Дуракоф

Дата регистрации: Apr 2007
Проживает: В Деревне дураков
Сообщений: 6488
Возраст: 31

Рейтинг



Napoleon321 you can set "fps_max" cvar to 100 or lower (72) for listen server and dedicated server through theirs config files, I think. I have never tried this, but I hope this fixes the problem.

Добавлено 11-05-2022 в 22:59:

Strange, anyway. Server always ticks at 100 fps. Nevermind what fps has a client machine. Try to look for solution a in CS 1.6 community forums.

Отредактировано Ku2zoff 11-05-2022 в 16:01

Сообщить модератору | | IP: Записан
Сообщение: 209123

Старое сообщение 11-05-2022 15:59
- За что?
Napoleon321
Admiral

Дата регистрации: Jan 2017
Проживает: Sofia
Сообщений: 37
Возраст: 32

Рейтинг



I will most likely do that Ku2zoff. Thanks.

But was hoping for coding solution, as CS is not actually open sourced... and any solution for CS would probably not work on HL/Mods.

__________________
FlatLine Arena | Tutorials

If you don't like something, MOD it!

Отредактировано Napoleon321 11-05-2022 в 17:49

Сообщить модератору | | IP: Записан
Сообщение: 209127

Старое сообщение 11-05-2022 17:48
- За что?
Тема: (Опционально)
Ваш ответ:



Переводчик транслита


[проверить длину сообщения]
Опции: Автоматическое формирование ссылок: автоматически добавлять [url] и [/url] вокруг интернет адресов.
Уведомление по E-Mail: отправить вам уведомление, если кто-то ответил в тему (только для зарегистрированных пользователей).
Отключить смайлики в сообщении: не преобразовывать текстовые смайлики в картинки.
Показать подпись: добавить вашу подпись в конец сообщения (только зарегистрированные пользователи могут иметь подписи).

Временная зона GMT. Текущее время 21:26. Новая тема    Ответить
  Предыдущая тема   Следующая тема
HLFX.Ru Forum HLFX.Ru Forum > Теория и практика > Half-Life SDK > FPS Max question and bugs...
some strange thing around FPS max....
Версия для печати | Отправить тему по E-Mail | Подписаться на эту тему

Быстрый переход:
Оцените эту тему:

Правила Форума:
Вы not можете создавать новые темы
Вы not можете отвечать в темы
Вы not можете прикреплять вложения
Вы not можете редактировать ваши сообщения
HTML Код ВЫКЛ
vB Код ВКЛ
Смайлики ВКЛ
[IMG] Код ВКЛ
 

< Обратная связь - HLFX.ru >

На основе vBulletin
Авторское право © 2000 - 2002, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Дизайн и программирование: Crystice Softworks © 2005 - 2022